Lightworks beta for mac, Q&D test-drive

 

Art-tickle based in my entrie at Personal-View LW's thread +)

 

  Well Lightworks beta for mac (12.E) is finally out there, it took a long time!!
  I’ve played a bit with it and here are some initial notes:
 
LW_home
 
  First of all WTF is this 7 days rope around my digital neck?!! Je je
 
lw_email_start_screen
 
Then about the program itself… hmmmm. It looks like a very very beta thing. I don’t mind at all the floating GUI (nice that is full screenable) and I can live with the silly red shark talking to me, but there’s no way I’m comfortable editing; I didn’t even manage to find shortcuts for such a basic task as jumping from clip-start to clip-start in the timeline. Add to that I was unable to import simple edits from premiere, being XML or EDL (actually EDL was imported but just the bones).
 
The overall feeling is something that still needs a lot of work and that some essentials are missing. There are some nice features like the node based chain (video routing) which is still at its infancy. The WB selector is pretty nice with a punch-in like window where you can still define sample area. Some stuff is very intuitive but there’s no help or guide or anything but the fucking red shark.
 
Like there’s no feather in masks and everything looks and feels a bit oversimplified (just look at the scopes).
That said here’s the good part, other than being (7 days license) free, the colour correcting tools are pretry responsive and enough (double edge blade on that enough, eh?) the colour engine does a very good job and in my machines is by far the fastest rendering standalone. Even from h264 material is damn fast the pimple shark!!!
 
 
Personally, I’ll keep an eye on this project, hopefully LUTs will be implemented, plugging and effex compatibility added, GUI refined and the overall experience might get a bit more coherent, reliable and enjoyable +)
 
 
lw_a
lw_b
lw_c
 
 
  Quick and dirty tests, full of inconsistencies ///// LW is always top right
  Click on the images for blowing dust 🙂
 
 
4_cc

gashô jabi-baby acitunita bunitchinha, ay cozita rica y eza barbilliita abujereá!!!

4_cc_plus
 
 
  PS
  Ok found a bit more of info in their User Guide
 
LW_keyboard
 
LW_shortcuts
 

Well, that’s it amicci, that and AGAIN my condolences to brasilians fans
Now it seems only a cup de etat, guaraná for everybody and public lynching Scolari may calm the Gods’ fury 😛

 
Also I’d like to praise those in football, or any sport for what it’s worth, that can see further away than the ball or his own balls; I’m talking about great gesture by Van Gaal ,-)
 
 

U P D A T E D

 
After a long process of testing and feedback I must warn that Lightworks is not remotely free, you can play around with the platform but any serious export option is disabled… Though Lwks community is helpful and the app has an appealing UI, incredibly slick options and superb filters the “free” sticker is merely promotional. I was a betatester myself and from that time onwards I’d advice anyone to always READ THE SMALL PRINT, always. That said and forgetting my disappointment, if I was starting today and had serious plans for editing; I would probably choose Lwks to work with, as it also is a powerful colour corrector.

IIf you feel like reading the details of this relationship, you can do so at Personal-View Lightworks thread =)

About m)◘(x

ni! for now
This entry was posted in freestuff, tech, video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.