Mind Game an anim(e)a(c)tion worth it

 
mind-game
  
  
Hi there travellers on the vacuum of pure possibilities =)
 
Lately I’ve been happily diving a lot in japonese visual heritage… from WWII era B&W classic films and series to anime, I had the opportunity to rediscover great masters and their work =)
 
Nevertheless I must say this was a recommendation by personal-view member Mimirsan and to him, I’m thankful 🙂
  
Another day I’ll try and write something about early Kurosawa’s work; dense stuff.
  
But today I want to talk about Mind Game. Though I’m by no means a conouseur, really faraway from that, I’ve watch quite a few crazy anime films with most diverse “incredible” themes; too many to try enunciate them. There is such a vast compressed layered cultural onion preceding and following such icons as Lupin III, Baldios, Nausica (or any master Miyazaki for the matter: Laputa, Totoro, Kikis, Porco Rosso, Mononoke, Chihiro, etc etc), Barefoot Gen, Vampire Hunter, D, Angel’s Egg, Akira, Wings of Honneamise, Patlabor, Grave of the Fireflies, Dragon Ball, Ninja Scrol, Macross, GITS (Ghost in the Shell), Memories, Metropolis, Perfect Blue, Evangelion, Blood, Animatrix, Appleased, Dead Leaves, 5 Centimeters Per Second, Karas, Fullmetal Alchemist, Paprika, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Sword of the Stranger, Redline, Arrietty, Berserk, etc. and many others I can’t recall the name.
  
After engaging with Hiroyuki Imaishi’s surreal Dead Leaves (from same year, 2004) and Takeshi Koike’s Redline (2009) I thought I had witnessed some pretty cool, innovative and mad styles.
  
But today – just watched Mind Game – I must admit my mind was completely blown off any axis it was left spinnig!!!
  
Very very interesting visual and narrative exploring stuff packed in this great film and as it that wasn’t enough a superb sensuous humour. Give it a chance baby, you may even like it B-)
  
  

gashô

  
  

About m)◘(x

ni! for now
This entry was posted in animation, photo, series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.